Finally a NOLA Interview

It’s been three days since we first arrived here in New Orleans, and I’ve finally had my first interview. Today I was dropped off at Tulane University to film a student organization called, MSA Tulane. This group is made up of primarily Muslim students coming together to help out and become more involved with their community. Today was their first meeting in quite some time, so they’re starting from the ground up. As well as filming the meeting, I filmed a member of MSA Tulane, and asked him a few questions dealing with Muslim culture and Islamic faith. As well as allowing me to film their meeting and conducting an interview; I was given two locations for mosques in the local area. Now, I just need to get myself over to those locations and film. I’m feeling the pressure of time, but I believe I can get it done.

  1. #1 by Mom on September 30, 2010 - 8:18+00:00

    Where else have you been? Were you able to enter the mosques?

    • #2 by whitleyhawkinsnola on October 1, 2010 - 8:18+00:00

      I’ve been all over! We’ve spent a lot of time in the French Quarter. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, but I’m enjoying it. I got into the House of Blues thanks to Devin and his contact. I’ve been to the Laffayette cemeteries and the St. Roch cemeteries. I’ve been all over the St. Bernard Parish and the Lower Ninth Ward. Yesterday we got to ride with a photo journalist at the Times Picayune, so that was really fun. I went to Tulane and LOYOLA university and conducted a couple interviews there. Today I get to go into the biggest Mosque in the area, so I’m super excited about that. Oh one of the best things I got to go see was a Second Line. I’ve never had so much fun with so many people, and I got great photographs. You’ll see them for sure.!

Leave a Reply

